Curatorial team

The Performance and Critical Social Praxis working group aims to support a critical praxis of socially engaged performance scholars. This praxis, to borrow Conquergood’s words, ‘struggles to open the space between analysis and action’. The group seeks to explore, stimulate and develop its members’ work through the sharing of practice, writing, ethical debate, collaborative research and embodied learning. The conveners are laureates of PSi’s Dwight Conquergood Award.

The conveners of the After Dwight Conquergood: Performance and Critical Social Praxis working group:

Jazmin Badong Llana is a professor of drama, theatre and performance studies and dean of liberal arts at De La Salle University in Manila, Philippines. She serves as convener of a network of artists, performance scholars and activists in the Philippines and chairs the research technical working group of the country’s National Commission for Culture and the Arts. She is an associate editor of Performance Research and is currently the Vice President of PSi.

Ella Parry-Davies is a British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow at the Royal Central School of Speech and Drama, University of London. She is a co-editor of Contemporary Theatre Review Interventions, and a BBC New Generation Thinker. Her work involves practice with collaborators in the UK, Lebanon and the Philippines, and focusses on performative relationships between migration and memory. She co-founded the research collective After Performance.

Matt Yoxall is a theatre-maker, training consultant and academic researcher. Living in Southeast Asia since 2003 Matt has worked consistently on theatre projects concerning forced migration and labour migration. He has a PhD in Theatre Studies from the National University of Singapore and is currently Affiliate Researcher at RCSD – Research Centre for Social Science and Sustainable Development, Chiang Mai University, Thailand.